Tuesday, June 12, 2007

Paris Hilton Unfairness


I think the media has really taken things out of proportion with this one.


Getting pulled over for driving on a suspended drivers permit is already bad enough, then she signed a statement stating that she knew that she wasn't allowed to be driving her car. So she did it anyway? I think that this is funny because we all know that she has way to much money for this to be a problem. Paris Hilton shouldn't have been driving her car that day she should have waited until she received the letter stating that her licence had be reinstated.


The problem I have with this situation is that the media is throwing that all out of proportion. First of all, Paris Hilton shouldn't really be famous, she shouldn't be treated like a celebrity, and she shouldn't get this much attention. What if Bill Gates had a Child would we give them this much attention? Second, our sentence for Paris Hilton was way to harsh, 45 days in prison, what a crock. Being popular in prison means getting the crap kicked out of you while others try to sit on your face and break you down until you sign over your entire heritage to them.


If any regular person was driving on a suspended licence they would not have given them 45 days in jail. They might have given then at most a week but defiantly not 45 days. Then after the prison sentence they would have kept them on probation for a few months just to make sure that they are not going to do any other law breaking acts.


She drove on a suspended licence, its not like she put anyone in danger or stole something, she drove a car, which she was well qualified to do. I personally believe that we should regulate prison for people who actually deserve to be in there, someone who is a threat to society or consistently breaks laws. No wonder we have so much money tied up in the legal system we have people in prison for driving on a suspended licence and breaking laws that no longer exist or are out dated.


I just don't think this if fair. I think that Paris has served her time in Prison and we need to let her out. I'm sure that instead of spending 1000 dollars a day paying for her to stay in prison we could spend 500 per day to get someone to follow her around to ensure that she isn't breaking any more laws or because a threat to society.


It just makes me sick, that this happens, when one person gets off with a slap on the wrist for selling cocaine on the streets but Paris Hilton spends 45 days in jail for driving a vehicle. Where is our priorities.


To view more articles Visit Articles